Buckwheat Sushi

buckwheat sushi

I’ve eaten sushi many times but this is the first time I’ve made sushi. All I can say is it’s much easier than you think! I was expecting to have to have several goes at rolling the sushi before I could get anything I could possibly photograph but no, these photographs represent my first effort. I know they’re not perfect but I’m pleased with them! The filling didn’t fall out, I didn’t need any special equipment and they tasted great!

buckwheat sushi

As usual I didn’t make sushi in the traditional way, I made buckwheat sushi. Why? Because I thought it would work well.  And I think you’ll approve of it too. Buckwheat has a slightly nutty taste which goes well with the raw vegetables and smoked tofu. It’s gluten free and technically it’s a seed not a cereal.

buckwheat sushi

Like I said I made these with no fancy gadgets. I just put the sheet of nori on a chopping board, added the filling and made a tight roll. The seaweed sticks to itself and stays in the roll shape. Then I cut them into pieces, more or less the same size. No mystery at all and definitely no special sushi-rolling gadgets, not even a bamboo mat.

Buckwheat Sushi

Preparation Time:15 minutes                 Servings: 2 (2 plates like the one in the photo) Cooking Time:         20 minutes                                                                                                     Total:                          35 minutes

Ingredients:

100g buckwheat (raw)

6 tbsp rice vinegar

generous pinch of salt

3 nori sheets

Red pepper (6 strips)

Courgette (6 strips)

Carrot (6 strips)

50g Smoked Tofu

Serve with:

Gluten Free Tamari

Wasabi Paste

1. Cook the buckwheat in boiling water for 20 minutes.

2. Drain the buckwheat, rinse it under the cold tap and drain again.

3. Put the buckwheat in a bowl and add the salt and vinegar. Mix well.

4. Place a sheet of nori on a chopping board. Spread a thin layer of buckwheat all over the sheet, leaving a border of 1cm all the way round.

5. In the middle make a sripe from one side to the other with the red pepper. Right next to it make another stripe with the carrot and another with the courgette and another with the tofu. You should now have one rainbow stripe in the middle of the sheet. Make a roll, remember to keep it tight.

6. Repeat with all the seaweed sheets.

7. With a serrated knife cut your rolls into portions and arrange on plates.

8. Serve with gluten-free tamari and wasabi paste.

This entry was posted in First courses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Buckwheat Sushi

  1. Oh Yum! I love Sushi and crave it once a week. I’ve never had it with buckwheat though. This I need to try out. Love the pictures too. Just pinned it!

  2. cloudthyme says:

    These look so beautiful and delicious!

  3. Sounds fabulous! I actually made homemade smoked tofu a couple weeks ago and I can only imagine how good it would have been inside sushi. I love that you used buckwheat and I find it very encouraging that you were able to make the sushi without much trouble.

Leave a comment