Vegan Chocolate Banana Pie

vegan chocolate banana pie

This all started because my husband complained that his smoothie was too rich and so thick that he had to eat it with a spoon. So I decided that if it was that thick then it would make a great pie filling.

But then I felt left out. You see I actually can’t stand bananas. I know they’re wonderful and super healthy, full of potassium, but no none are going pass my lips! So I thought why should he have all the pie? So I made myself a chocolate orange one. But I’m getting ahead of myself, that post is for another day.

The base of this pie is made with hazelnuts and brazil nuts but you can use any (unsalted) nuts you like here. Put whatever you fancy or whatever you have on hand in the crust. I think almonds would be good here.

vegan chocolate banana pie

The only time consuming bit here is that you have to leave the crusts in the freezer overnight. I couldn’t wait to get to mine the next day, but that’s just because I dream of food…

The coconut oil is a must though, for me the hot weather was a bit of a problem as it started to melt while I was photographing the pies! It’s solid below 24ºc so as soon a the hot weather subsides it won’t be a problem any more!

Vegan Chocolate Banana Pie

Preparation Time: 15 minutes                                  Servings: 1 small pie                           Cooking Time:          None                                                                                                               Total:                           15 minutes

Ingredients:

50g hazelnuts

50g brazil nuts

4 tbsp rice syrup or preferred sweetener (agave, stevia…)

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 ripe banana

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tsp ground flax seeds

1. Put the hazelnuts, brazil nuts, 3 tbsp rice syrup and the coconut oil in a food processor. Process until well ground and sticky.

2. Line a pie tin with cling film. Put the sticky mixture inside and with your fingers form a pie case. Cover with another layer of cling film and put in the freezer, preferably overnight.

3. Peel the banana. Cut it in half and cut 3 small slices for decoration. Put the rest of the banana, the cocoa powder, 1 tbsp of rice syrup and the flax seeds in the blender. Blend until you have a smooth chocolate cream.

4. Remove the pie case from the freezer. Remove the cling film. Pour the chocolate banana cream into the pie case and put in the fridge for 10 minutes to firm up. Serve with the banana slices on top.

This entry was posted in Cakes, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vegan Chocolate Banana Pie

  1. veghotpot says:

    mmm this looks amazing!!

  2. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Orange Pie | yummyvege

Leave a Reply

