Red Cabbage Salad with Miso Dressing

Red cabbage salad

I’m not a football fan. I’ve probably just lost half my readers right there. But, it’s actually coming in handy. He’s distracted watching the match and I can get on with blogging. And if he complains of being a blogging widower then I’ll complain of being a football widow. Works both ways. The cat, on the other hand is quite upset that noone is paying her any attention at all. When I finish this post I’ll have to remedy that.

Today I bring you a salad which is crunchy, and maybe a bit different to what you eat most days and of course totally yummy. It’s quick and easy to make. Make sure you use the dressing though as this is what makes it really special. A fab mix of salty from the miso and sharp from the lime and vinegar.

I served this with sauteed seitan and a baked potato.

This post is my entry in Souper Sundays a weekly roundup of blog entries with recipes for soups, salads and sammies. If you want more info visit their page here.

Red Cabbage Salad with Miso Dressing

Preparation:    10 minutes                                                     Servings: 2 people                      Cooking Time: None                                                                                                                        Total:                  10 minutes

Ingredients:

1/4 red cabbage

2 carrots

2 runner beans

1/4 onion

dressing:

1 tsp mugi miso

1 tsp whole grain mustard

1 tsp of herb infused white wine vinegar (They sell it like this but if you can’t find it just use plain white wine vinegar)

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

A squeeze of lime juice

A pinch of salt

Mix all the dressing ingredients in a glass jar until combined. Chop the cabbage, runner beans and onion. Peel and grateb the carrot. Mix together in a large bowl. Pour over the dressing and mix again.

This entry was posted in First courses, Salads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Cabbage Salad with Miso Dressing

  1. So colorful and crunchy and I love the sounds of that tangy miso/mustard dressing. A wonderful salad for sure! Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays this week. (I hope your cat got some love!) 😉

  2. At this time it seems like WordPress is the top
    blogging platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using
    on your blog?

Leave a comment