Almond Biscuits

almond biscuits These biscuits came about because of two things. The first is I visited a beautiful little village called Ardales where I ate the most delicious biscuits ever. Crunchy on the outside and soft, a bit like marzipan, in the middle. And when I saw the ingredients listed on the box I thought easypeasy. And they were.

almond biscuits
The other thing is that ground almonds were on offer in Lidl because they were close to their sell by date. Funny how this happened really close to my visit to Ardales.
And so these biscuits came to be.

almond biscuits
If you’re in Southern Spain and you have the chance to visit Ardales and the surrounding area (el Chorro and Guadalhorce) it’s really worth it. I’ll leave you with a link so you can drool over pictures of the wonderful views and dream about your next holiday!
Back to the biscuits; I’ve made some changes to the original so now they’re egg free and I’ve swapped the sugar for agave nectar. You could try using dates or banana too and let me know how it goes. Oh and did I mention they only contain 4 ingredients?

What are your favourite biscuits?

Almond Biscuits

Preparation:     10 minutes   (+ soaking time)                         Servings: 20 small biscuits  Cooking Time: 9-10 minutes                                                                                                        Total:                  20 minutes

Ingredients:

200g ground almonds

2 flax eggs (2 tbsps ground flax mixed with 6tbsps water and left in the fridge for 15 minutes)

6 tbsp agave nectar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 200ºc. Make up the flax eggs. Put all the ingredients in a bowl and mix until well combined. Break off little balls of mixture, flatten and place on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Bake for 9-10 minutes until golden on top.

 

This entry was posted in Biscuits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almond Biscuits

  1. These look so perfect! I love almonds and I love how simple this recipe is! A nice little treat but still healthy, yay!

Leave a comment