Parsnip and Fennel Soup

Parsnip and Fennel Soup

I know, I know, I disappeared, again. And I missed my first blogiversary which is a shame. But I have a good excuse, I was moving. And having taken just over a month I am finally back on the internet. I can’t believe that it took so long but it’s all sorted out now. We are settled in (sort of), we’re still unpacking and the only serious thing wrong is the fact that there is no oven. So it’s back to my trusty Tefal table top oven which I thought I had used for the last time. Good job I kept it in a box just in case.

Seeing as winter seems to be disappearing fast, I thought I’d better get in another soup recipe while you’re still interested. Especially as this one has a rather unusual taste.

When you mention parsnips most people think of roasted parsnips. I love the taste of roasted parsnips but I think they are also great in soups and stews. Their sweetness brings a different taste and the starches in them thicken the stock up. For me it’s important that the parsnips have been “frosted” otherwise they don’t have enough sweetness. If you’re not sure it’s cold enough where you live or you haven’t been through the first frosts of the year you can freeze the parsnips before cooking to bring out their flavour.

Parsnips and Fennel

Parsnip and Fennel soup

Preparation Time: 10 minutes                     Servings: 2 people                              Cooking Time:        20 minutes                                                                                                      Total:                         30 minutos

1/2 an onion

1 medium bulb of fennel

2 large parsnips

1 vegetable stock cube

1tbsp extra virgin olive oil

salt

water

1. Peel the onion and dice.

2. Lightly fry the onion in the olive oil with a pinch of salt.

3. Peel the parsnip.

4. Chop the fennel and parsnip and add to the saucepan.

5. Lighly fry for about 5 minutes.

6. Cover with water, add the stock cube, put a lid on the pan.

7. Bring to the boil, lower the heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

8. Remove from the heat and blend with a hand blender until smooth.

9. Serve in bowls topped with the leafy part from the fennel bulb.

You can also sign up for e mail updates or follow me on facebook, Pinterest and Twitter. Look forward to seeing you there!

This entry was posted in First courses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

