Avocado Bites

avocado bites

These little bites are great for parties, buffets, potlucks or just for stuffing in your mouth at every possible opportunity. They’re also extremely adaptable. I used quinoa to bind with the avocadoes but I would say you could use almost any cereal you wanted (I know quinoa’s not a cereal, by the way), I think cous cous or brown rice would also be good. You can make them as spicy as you like. I put tabasco in half of them and in the other half I left it out because my husband doesn’t like spicy food. And finally you can change the nuts on the outside of the bites. I used half walnuts and half brazil nuts, because that’s what I had on hand but you could use any chopped nuts you like or change them for some kind of seeds! I’m also thinking of trying a sweet version. You could really get creative with this recipe!

avocado bites

A funny thing happened after I photographed these avocado bites. I went to put them in the fridge and when I came back to put the table away the cat was sitting on top of it, right where the food had been. She was in the middle of it all, the washing hanging out to dry, the pot plants. And she left some cute little cat footprints on the cloth…

Avocado Bites

Preparation:    15 minutes                                                   Servings: 25 “bites”                     Cooking Time: 15 minutes                                                                                                              Total:                  30 minutes

Ingredients:

250g cooked quinoa or 170g uncooked quinoa

1 large avocado

1 tsp sesame seeds

Squeeze of lime juice

100g chopped nuts (I used 50g walnuts / 50g brazil nuts)

Tabasco sauce to taste (optional)

Salt

Wash the quinoa and put in a saucepan. Add three cups of water and boil for about 15 minutes or until cooked. Meanwhile mash the avocado with salt and the lime juce. It should be slightly salty because it will be diluted by the quinoa. Chop the nuts. I used a food processor. Add the tabasco to the avocado, if using. When the quinoa is cooked, drain and rinse thoroughly under the cold tap. Make sure that as much water as possible is drained. Mix the quinoa with the avocado mixture. With clean hands, form little balls and roll in the chopped nuts. Place on a plate and chill if you’re not going to eat them straight away.

Here you can see what I meant about my cat!

Campanilla

 

This entry was posted in First courses, Salads and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Avocado Bites

  1. Joanne says:

    What fun bites! These would definitely make for great appetizers!

  2. Yum! Avo and quinoa combined!

Leave a Reply

