Hummus Salad Tower

Hummus salad tower

This recipe is soooo easy but the great thing about it is it looks really impressive. This is just the thing if you’ve got people coming over becuase you can prepare it in advance and keep it in the fridge, because you can make it in minutes, because it tastes scrumptious, because it goes perfectly with the warm weather we’re having, because because because…

This is a recipe for cheats because you use ready cooked beetroot, you can use shop bought hummus and shop bought guacamole. Or you can steam your own beets and make your own hummus and guacamole. I recommend this hummus recipe, (it’s what I used) but then I would, wouldn’t I?

Preparation:     15 minutes                                                  Servings: 2 people as a starter Cooking Time:  None                                                                                                                       Total:                   15 minutes

Ingredients:

2 Beetroot (peeled and boiled/steamed – I used ready cooked vacuum-packed ones)

100g hummus (shop bought or from this recipe)

1/2 grated carrot

50g guacamole or avocado mash*

4 whole walnuts

extra virgin olive oil to drizzle on top

*For the avocado mash:

1 small avocado

1 pinch of salt

1 squeeze of lime or lemon juice

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

First make the hummus if not using bought. Make the avocado mash by mashing all the ingredients with a fork. Slice the beetroot into thin slices. Start making towers. I put a beetroot slice, some hummus, some grated carrot, a little more hummus, a beetroot slice, some avocado mash, another beetroot slice, more hummus, more carrot, the last of the hummus, a beetroot slice and a little more avocado. Crown with a walnut and drizzle with extra virgin olive oil. Makes four towers, we ate two each.

hummus salad tower

 

This entry was posted in First courses, Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hummus Salad Tower

  1. Hi Jo,
    I love all the colors you have going here. It sounds very tasty too. I used to be a vegetarian when I lived there many years ago and it was pretty difficult at the time. Too be a vegetarian was a rare thing but now it’s more common and it’s probably easier. But I’m sure you probably still get a stare or two when you tell people you are a vegetarian. (I’m assuming you are vegan because I don’t see any meat or poultry in your recipes.)

    • Jo says:

      Hi Mireya,
      I’m a vegetarian – I do occasionally eat eggs and cheese when I go out but not very often at home. Vegetarianism is just starting out here and yes I do get funny looks sometimes! I’ve just learnt to live with it!

Leave a Reply

