Cashew Nut Cheese with Sundried Tomatoes

Cashew nut cheese

I love cheese and I’ve tried several nut cheese recipes but until now nothing had convinced me much. But then I saw a recipe on the coconut and berries blog and decided to adapt it and try it myself. The recipe is simple. It includes ingredients that I can find easily or have in my house. And it’s really good. I wouldn’t say cheesy, to me it’s more like vegetarian pate. But I’ll definitely make it again, I think it’s a good staple to have in the fridge and it would be a nice starter for when people come round. You can find the original version here.

Preparation:  5 minutes plus soaking time.                            Servings:  2 people                 Cooking time:30 minutes                                                                                                               Total:               35 minutes

Ingredients:

50g raw cashews, soaked (preferably overnight), drained and rinsed

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp water

6 sundried tomatoes, soaked (about 15 minutes) and drained

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 180c. Put al the ingredients for the cheese into a blender and blend for a good 5 minutes until everything is a paste. Put into an oiled ramekin and bake for 30 minutes. Allow to cool before taking out of the ramekin. It’s really that easy!!!

Cashew nut cheese

This entry was posted in First courses and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

